CTFL-UT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTFL-UT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The standard U.S. exam fee for Usability Testing is USD 199, per ASTQB's 2026 price table.
  • Foundation Level certification is a prerequisite, so budget for it if you do not already hold it.
  • Online proctored and test-center delivery carry the same standard voucher price.
  • Training is optional; self-study is permitted, and a retake normally means buying another voucher.

What You Are Actually Paying For

Before comparing prices, it helps to be precise about the product. On this site, CTFL-UT refers to the ISTQB usability testing specialist credential, which ISTQB now officially names Certified Tester Usability Testing (CT-UT). It is governed in the United States by the American Software Testing Qualifications Board (ASTQB) within the ISTQB scheme. It is a specialist module that sits on top of the core Foundation Level. If you want the naming background first, our What Is CTFL-UT? explainer covers it.

The exam itself is 40 multiple-choice questions worth 40 points, with 60 minutes on the clock and a pass mark of 26 of 40 points (65%). The exam is delivered through AT*SQA using Kryterion/Webassessor, either online proctored or at a testing center. Everything in your budget flows from those mechanics: a voucher, possibly a prerequisite, optional prep, and the risk of a second attempt.

The Exam Fee: USD 199

The current standard U.S. exam fee for the Usability Testing exam is USD 199. This figure is explicitly listed for Usability Testing in ASTQB's 2026 price table, which makes it the anchor number for your budget.

A note on conflicting price pages: AT*SQA's pricing summary does not include a row for the Usability Testing exam. That omission is not evidence of a different fee. Treat ASTQB's 2026 price table, where Usability Testing is listed explicitly, as the controlling source, and confirm the amount at checkout before you pay.

What the fee does and does not vary by

  • Delivery mode: the standard voucher price is the same whether you test online with a proctor or at a testing center.
  • Membership: no member versus nonmember price split is published for this exam, so do not wait for a membership discount that may not exist.
  • Language and time: eligible non-native-language candidates receive 25% additional time (75 minutes instead of 60). The published materials do not describe this as a price change.

Because no separate price is published for online delivery, you can choose between home and testing center on convenience alone. Online delivery gives you an electronic calculator and notepad per the AT*SQA online instructions, and the exam is closed-book either way. If you are weighing scheduling logistics, see CTFL-UT Exam Dates 2026.

The Hidden Line Item: Foundation Level

The most common budgeting mistake is treating USD 199 as the whole cost. The usability testing module requires ISTQB Foundation Level certification as a prerequisite. If you already hold it, this line item is zero. If you do not, the Foundation exam and whatever preparation you choose for it become part of your real cost of reaching this specialist credential.

Two practical details matter here:

  • A Foundation certificate earned through another ISTQB board or provider must be supplied through your AT*SQA account before the exam. Upload it early so a document check does not delay your scheduled date.
  • No separate mandatory degree, experience hours, training hours or references were verified for this specialist module. The prerequisite is the certificate, not a work-history requirement.

For the full eligibility picture, read CTFL-UT Requirements 2026. For cost purposes, the takeaway is simple: price your path from where you are today, not from the specialist exam alone.

Optional Training and Practice Materials

Training is separate from the exam fee and optional. Self-study is permitted, and an accredited course is not required to sit the exam. That means the largest swing factor in your total spend is entirely your choice.

Free and low-cost foundations

  • The official syllabus: the Certified Tester Foundation Level Specialist Syllabus Usability Testing, Version 2018 (dated July 8, 2018), is publicly downloadable and is the authoritative statement of what is examinable.
  • The official sample exam: Sample Exam A v1.2 (June 15, 2021) explicitly supports syllabus Version 2018 and is published with a separate answer file.
Watch the sample exam version: ASTQB's resource page still links an older GTB Sample Exam dated 2017. The current ISTQB sample is Sample Exam A v1.2. Do not mistake the older document for the current one, because practicing against outdated material can distort your sense of readiness.

Paid options you may encounter

Search results surface several commercial destinations, including Udemy practice courses, ProcessExam, Study4Exam, CertPrep and ORSYS training. Public pages from these providers show sample questions or course descriptions, but their paid banks were not accessed here, and advertised success figures are marketing claims rather than issuer pass rates. Year labels on practice products do not prove the exam itself was revised. The exam remains tied to the 2018 syllabus, so judge any product by whether it maps to that syllabus rather than by a 2026 title.

A reasonable approach is to treat paid practice as a cheap rehearsal for a USD 199 decision, not as a substitute for reading the syllabus. Our CTFL-UT Study Guide 2026 and CTFL-UT Training pages go deeper on choosing between self-study and instructor-led options.

Retake Economics

A failed attempt normally requires purchasing another exam voucher. At the standard price, a single retake doubles your exam spend from USD 199 to USD 398 before any prep costs. ASTQB does describe conditional free or discounted retake offers that may apply, but the conditions change, so check ASTQB's current retake FAQ at the time you register rather than assuming you will qualify.

The pass rate for this exact credential is not publicly disclosed. ASTQB's roughly 71% figure is an aggregate across worldwide certifications and exams through May 2025, so it should not be read as a usability testing pass rate. That uncertainty is itself a reason to invest in practice questions before booking: you cannot lean on a published pass figure to gauge your odds. See CTFL-UT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and How Hard Is the CTFL-UT Exam? for more.

Key Takeaway

The cheapest path is rarely the one with the lowest sticker price. A prepared first attempt at USD 199 beats an under-prepared attempt followed by a second voucher purchase.

Cost Scenarios Compared

The table below organizes the cost components by who pays them and how much control you have. Only the exam fee carries a verified dollar figure; the rest depend on your choices and the providers you pick.

Cost ComponentAmountRequired?Notes
Usability Testing exam voucherUSD 199 (standard U.S. fee)YesSame price online or at a testing center
Foundation Level prerequisiteSeparate cost if not already heldYes, certificate requiredCertificates from other boards must be supplied via AT*SQA account
Accredited training courseVaries by providerNoOptional; self-study is permitted
Practice tests and question banksVaries by providerNoVerify syllabus mapping to Version 2018
Retake voucherNormally another purchaseOnly if you failConditional ASTQB offers may apply
Renewal or continuing educationNoneNoCertification is lifetime

Where Your Preparation Money Should Go

If you are spending on prep, concentrate it where the exam concentrates its points. Under the official Exam Structure Tables v1.19 (August 19, 2026), the 40 questions are allocated as 8, 2, 3, 3, 13, 2, 1 and 2 across the eight syllabus chapters, plus 6 cross-syllabus keyword questions. The syllabus does not publish percentage domain weights, and none are inferred here. The raw question counts, however, make the priorities clear.

Domain 5: Usability Testing (13 questions)

The largest single allocation, and therefore the best place to spend practice time and money.

  • Test planning, scripting and task design
  • Moderation technique and the responsibilities of moderator, note-taker and observer
  • Capturing, analyzing and reporting findings

Domain 1: Basic Concepts (8 questions)

The second-largest allocation. Terminology precision pays off because the 6 cross-syllabus keyword questions reward exact vocabulary.

  • Usability, user experience and accessibility definitions
  • How the three concepts relate and differ

Domains 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 8

Risks in Usability, User Experience and Accessibility; Usability and Accessibility Standards; Usability Reviews; User Surveys; Selecting Appropriate Methods; and Summary of Roles and Responsibilities carry small allocations individually (3, 3, 2, 1 and 2 questions respectively, with Domain 2 at 2), but together they account for a meaningful share of the exam.

  • Standards questions should be answered against the 2018 syllabus, which names WCAG 2.0, not against later versions of professional standards
  • Selecting Appropriate Methods rewards comparing techniques, so practice choosing between them for a given scenario

One caution on a source conflict: ASTQB's HTML allocation summary labels the six keyword questions as a "Chapter 9," while the detailed official table and the eight-chapter syllabus treat them as cross-syllabus keyword questions rather than a ninth content domain. The detailed table controls. For a chapter-by-chapter breakdown, see CTFL-UT Exam Domains 2026.

A cost-aware sequencing idea

Since this is the one place a schedule is useful, here is a brief one tied to the allocations above rather than generic habits:

Week 1

Concepts and Risks

  • Read Domains 1 and 2; build a glossary for keyword questions
Week 2

Standards and Reviews

  • Cover Domains 3 and 4, keeping to the standards the 2018 syllabus actually names
Week 3

Usability Testing

  • Spend the most time on Domain 5, working through planning, scripting, moderation and reporting
Week 4

Surveys, Methods, Roles and Rehearsal

  • Finish Domains 6 to 8, then sit the official Sample Exam A v1.2 under a 60-minute limit

Lifetime Validity and Return on Spend

On the return side, the credential is valid for life, with no renewal or continuing-education requirement. That makes the cost essentially one-time: you pay for the voucher (and any prerequisite or prep) and never again for maintenance. Compared with credentials that charge renewal fees or demand continuing-education credits, the long-run cost structure is simple.

What cannot be stated honestly is a salary premium. No authoritative CTFL-UT-specific salary series or causal salary premium was verified, so any claim that the certification raises pay by a particular amount would be invented. The value case rests instead on demonstrating structured knowledge of usability planning, evaluation and reporting to employers in QA, UX research and accessibility-adjacent roles. For a fuller discussion, see CTFL-UT Salary Guide 2026, Is the CTFL-UT Certification Worth It? and CTFL-UT Jobs.

If you have decided to proceed, the most efficient use of your budget is to confirm the current fee at checkout, secure your prerequisite documentation, and test your readiness with realistic questions on our practice test site before booking. A few dollars spent finding weak areas early is cheaper than a second voucher. You can also use the CTFL-UT Cheat Sheet for a final review pass and check CTFL-UT Passing Score 2026 to keep the 26-of-40 target in mind.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CTFL-UT exam cost in 2026?

The current standard U.S. exam fee is USD 199, explicitly listed for Usability Testing in ASTQB's 2026 price table. The voucher price is the same for online proctored and testing-center delivery. Confirm the amount at checkout, since it is the only exam-fee figure verified for this credential.

Do I need to buy a training course to sit the exam?

No. Self-study is permitted, and an accredited course is optional. Training is priced separately from the exam voucher. The official 2018 syllabus and the current Sample Exam A v1.2 are available for free and form a solid base for self-directed preparation.

Is there a discount for members or for taking the exam online?

No member versus nonmember price split is published for this exam, and the standard voucher price is the same for online and test-center delivery. Conditional ASTQB offers may apply to retakes, so check their current retake terms before assuming a discount.

What happens to my cost if I fail?

A retake normally requires purchasing another exam voucher, so a single failure roughly doubles your exam spend at the standard price. Conditional ASTQB free or discounted retake offers may apply. Pass-rate data for this exact credential is not publicly disclosed, so prepare thoroughly for the first attempt.

Are there renewal fees after I pass?

No. The certification is valid for life, with no renewal or continuing-education requirement. Your cost is effectively the one-time voucher plus any prerequisite certification and optional preparation you choose to buy.

Ready to pass your CTFL-UT exam?

Put this into practice with free CTFL-UT questions across every exam domain.