- The Number: 26 of 40 Points
- Which Credential This Passing Score Belongs To
- Format, Timing and What the Score Is Measured Against
- Where the 40 Points Come From
- Why There Are No Official Domain Percentages
- What Is and Isn't Published About Scoring
- A Realistic Plan for Banking 26 Points
- Practice Material: The 2017 vs 2021 Sample Trap
- Fees, Retakes and Validity
- Passing Score vs Pass Rate
- A Domain-Ordered Study Schedule
- Frequently Asked Questions
- You need 26 of 40 points, which is 65%, to pass the Usability Testing exam.
- The exam has 40 multiple-choice questions, 40 available points and a 60-minute limit.
- Usability Testing (Chapter 5) carries 13 of the 40 points, the largest single allocation.
- Eligible non-native-language candidates get 25% extra time, which makes 75 minutes.
The Number: 26 of 40 Points
The passing score for the ISTQB Usability Testing Certification (CTFL-UT) is 26 out of 40 points, or 65%. The exam is made up of 40 multiple-choice questions and 40 available points, so in practice you can afford to miss 14 points and still pass. That sounds generous until you remember that this is a specialist module: the questions probe whether you can apply usability concepts to realistic scenarios, not just recite definitions.
This article breaks down what that 65% threshold means in practice, where the points are concentrated, what the official sources do and do not tell you about scoring, and how to build a study plan around the number rather than around vague confidence. If you want the wider picture first, the CTFL-UT study guide covers the full preparation path, and the difficulty guide addresses how demanding the questions feel.
Which Credential This Passing Score Belongs To
The acronym "CTFL-UT" is used for more than one credential in the wider world, so it is worth pinning down. On this site, CTFL-UT means the ISTQB Usability Testing specialist certification, governed in the United States by the American Software Testing Qualifications Board (ASTQB) within the ISTQB scheme. ISTQB's current official international name for it is Certified Tester Usability Testing (CT-UT); the older CTFL-UT label persists in search behavior and in this site's name.
The 65% threshold, the 40-question format and the fee quoted below all apply to this specialist module only. They are not the numbers for the ISTQB Foundation Level exam, and they are not the numbers for other usability credentials. If you are still sorting out the terminology, the explainers on what CTFL-UT is and what CTFL-UT stands for are a good starting point.
Format, Timing and What the Score Is Measured Against
The structure behind the passing score is straightforward:
| Element | Detail |
|---|---|
| Question type | Multiple choice |
| Number of questions | 40 |
| Available points | 40 |
| Passing score | 26 points (65%) |
| Standard time | 60 minutes |
| Extended time (eligible non-native-language candidates) | 75 minutes (25% additional) |
| Conditions | Closed book |
| Delivery | Online proctored or testing center, via AT*SQA with Kryterion/Webassessor |
Sixty minutes for 40 questions works out to a little over a minute and a half per question. That is comfortable for knowledge-recall items and tighter for scenario-style items that ask you to read a short test setup and choose the best action. Plan to move quickly through definitional questions so you bank time for scenarios.
For online delivery, the provider's instructions describe an electronic calculator and notepad being available. The exam is closed book, so there is no reference material to lean on. Publicly verified information does not specify an adaptive-testing mechanism, so treat the exam as a fixed-length test of 40 items.
Where the 40 Points Come From
The detailed ISTQB exam structure table (Exam Structure Tables v1.19, August 2026) allocates questions across the eight syllabus chapters, plus a block of cross-syllabus keyword questions. The allocation is below.
| Syllabus Chapter | Questions / Points |
|---|---|
| 1. Basic Concepts | 8 |
| 2. Risks in Usability, User Experience and Accessibility | 2 |
| 3. Usability and Accessibility Standards | 3 |
| 4. Usability Reviews | 3 |
| 5. Usability Testing | 13 |
| 6. User Surveys | 2 |
| 7. Selecting Appropriate Methods | 1 |
| 8. Summary of Roles and Responsibilities | 2 |
| Cross-syllabus keyword questions | 6 |
| Total | 40 |
Two things stand out. First, Usability Testing (Chapter 5) alone is 13 points. Add Basic Concepts at 8 and those two chapters account for 21 of the 40 points, which is already most of the way to the 26-point pass line. Second, several chapters are worth only 1 to 3 questions each, which means a single weak area is survivable if the big ones are solid.
Domain 5: Usability Testing (13 points)
This is where candidates should spend the most hands-on practice. Expect questions about the full lifecycle of a usability test, not isolated facts.
- Planning a test: objectives, participants, tasks and environment
- Scripting and preparing realistic user tasks
- Moderating a session, including how not to bias a participant
- Recording observations, severity of findings and reporting
- Clear separation of tester, moderator, note-taker and observer responsibilities
Domain 1: Basic Concepts (8 points)
Foundational vocabulary that the rest of the exam leans on. Because the cross-syllabus keyword questions also draw on terminology, strong command of the glossary pays off twice.
- Core definitions of usability, user experience and accessibility
- How these concepts relate and where they differ
- The terminology used consistently across the syllabus
For a chapter-by-chapter walkthrough of what each area contains, see the CTFL-UT exam domains guide.
Why There Are No Official Domain Percentages
You may see third-party pages quoting percentage weights for each domain. The official retrieved syllabus and current exam structure tables do not publish percentage-domain weights, and question counts, points and teaching hours should not be converted into percentages and presented as official. The table above gives raw question counts as published, and that is the most reliable view of emphasis.
There is also a small source discrepancy worth knowing about. ASTQB's HTML allocation summary labels the six cross-syllabus keyword questions as a "Chapter 9." The detailed official exam structure table and the eight-chapter syllabus are the controlling sources, and the keyword block is not a ninth content domain. If you have seen a ninth chapter mentioned somewhere, treat it as a labeling quirk. The syllabus also contains References and an Index, but neither of those is an additional exam domain.
What Is and Isn't Published About Scoring
Being precise about the unknowns protects you from false assumptions:
- Published: 40 questions, 40 points, 26 points to pass, 60 minutes, 75 minutes with the non-native-language extension.
- Not separately published: any count of unscored items. Do not assume every question is unscored-free or that some are; simply answer every question.
- Not published for this exact exam: a pass rate. ASTQB cites an approximate 71% overall figure, but that is an aggregate of worldwide ISTQB certifications and exams through May 2025, not a CT-UT result.
The practical advice is simple: answer every question, because there is no indication of a penalty structure beyond the points you earn. Use the pass rate article to see how to read pass-rate claims critically.
A Realistic Plan for Banking 26 Points
Because the pass line is a points target, you can plan backward from it. Here is one way to think about it, expressed as a goal rather than a prediction:
- Anchor the big two. Aim to earn the large majority of the 13 points in Usability Testing and the 8 points in Basic Concepts. Those 21 points leave you needing roughly 5 more from the remaining 19.
- Harvest the cheap middle. Usability and Accessibility Standards (3), Usability Reviews (3) and the six keyword questions are compact areas that reward focused memorization of terms and distinctions.
- Don't ignore the 1-to-2-point chapters. Risks (2), User Surveys (2), Selecting Appropriate Methods (1) and Roles and Responsibilities (2) are small, but a clean sweep of them is the difference between a comfortable pass and a nervous one.
This is a strategy for allocating effort, not a guarantee that any particular distribution of correct answers will occur on your exam. Question selection varies by exam form, so build general competence rather than betting on a single pattern.
Standards questions need care
The 2018 syllabus names WCAG 2.0 explicitly, and its standards and accessibility references are tied to that version of the syllabus. Current professional practice has moved on in several areas, and a training provider's "2026" title does not mean the exam has been revised or that later standards versions are what you will be examined on. When you study standards, answer from the syllabus's framing and keep the exam's references separate from what you might apply on the job today.
Practice Material: The 2017 vs 2021 Sample Trap
Candidates often assume any "official sample exam" is equally useful. It is not. Two documents circulate, and they are not interchangeable:
| Sample | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| ISTQB Sample Exam A v1.2 | June 15, 2021 | Current official sample; explicitly supports syllabus Version 2018; questions and answers published separately |
| GTB Sample Exam Version 2017 | July 21, 2017 | Older sample still linked from an ASTQB resource page; predates the 2018 syllabus |
Use the 2021 sample as your calibration tool because it is written against the same syllabus version you are studying. Treat the 2017 document with caution. Third-party question banks can supplement your practice, but their correctness and alignment to the exam are generally not independently validated, and answer-only keys without reasoning teach little. When you review any question, ask why each distractor is wrong and which syllabus chapter it traces to. You can build that habit with the exam-style items on our practice test site.
Fees, Retakes and Validity
Passing the exam is the goal, but the logistics shape how many attempts you can reasonably afford:
- Fee: The current standard U.S. exam fee is USD 199, listed explicitly for Usability Testing in ASTQB's 2026 price table. The price is the same for online and testing-center delivery. No member/nonmember split is published, and optional training is a separate cost.
- Retakes: A retake normally requires purchasing another voucher, though conditional ASTQB free or discounted retake offers may apply. Check current terms before you schedule.
- Validity: The certification is lifetime, with no renewal or continuing-education requirement.
- Prerequisite: ISTQB Foundation Level certification. If your prerequisite was earned through another board or provider, it must be supplied through your AT*SQA account before the exam.
A fuller breakdown is in the certification cost guide, and scheduling mechanics are covered in the exam dates article.
Passing Score vs Pass Rate
These two figures get confused constantly. The passing score is the threshold you must reach: 26 of 40 points. The pass rate is the proportion of candidates who reach it, and for this exact credential that proportion is not publicly disclosed. The approximate 71% figure ASTQB mentions is an aggregate across worldwide ISTQB certifications and exams, so it says little about this specialist module specifically.
The honest takeaway: the exam is passable with solid preparation, but you should not anchor your confidence to a borrowed percentage. Anchor it to your own practice results against the 65% line instead.
Key Takeaway
Treat 65% as your floor in practice exams, not your target. If your timed practice scores hover near 26 of 40, a single unfamiliar scenario question can flip the outcome. Aim for a consistent cushion above it before booking your slot.
A Domain-Ordered Study Schedule
Since Usability Testing and Basic Concepts dominate the points, they should dominate your calendar. This sequence front-loads vocabulary, then spends the heaviest block on the test lifecycle, then sweeps the small chapters.
Basic Concepts and Risks
- Master the glossary terms; they feed both Chapter 1 and the keyword questions
- Cover Risks in Usability, User Experience and Accessibility
Standards and Usability Reviews
- Study the standards named in the 2018 syllabus, including WCAG 2.0
- Work through review techniques and when each applies
Usability Testing, part one
- Planning, participants, task scripting and environment setup
- Role split among tester, moderator, note-taker and observer
Usability Testing, part two
- Moderation technique, avoiding bias, recording findings and reporting
- Write a short mock test plan and findings report to cement the flow
Surveys, Methods Selection, Roles and mock exams
- Cover User Surveys, Selecting Appropriate Methods and Summary of Roles and Responsibilities
- Sit the 2021 Sample Exam A under a 60-minute timer and review every miss
If you are juggling work, stretch the plan; if you are fresh from Foundation Level study, you may compress it. The schedule exists to match effort to point value, not to prescribe a universal timeline. The cheat sheet is useful for last-day review of terms and distinctions.
Why the worked exercise matters
Candidates who only read about usability testing tend to stumble on scenario questions. Drafting a one-page test plan, writing three task scenarios and a moderator script, and then writing up two mock findings with severity ratings gives you the mental model the 13-point chapter rewards. It also makes the role boundaries concrete: who greets the participant, who stays silent, who timestamps observations, and who watches without intervening.
Frequently Asked Questions
You need 26 out of 40 points, which is 65%. The exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions worth one point each, with 60 minutes allowed (75 minutes for eligible non-native-language candidates).
Usability Testing (Chapter 5) is the largest allocation at 13 questions and 13 points. Basic Concepts follows with 8. Six additional cross-syllabus keyword questions are not a separate content domain.
No. The official syllabus and exam structure tables give question counts per chapter but no percentage weights. Any percentages you see elsewhere were derived by third parties and are not official.
Yes, but a retake normally requires purchasing another exam voucher, currently USD 199 at the standard U.S. price. Conditional ASTQB free or discounted retake offers may apply, so check the current terms.
No. The certification is valid for life with no renewal or continuing-education requirement. For the career side of the decision, see our analysis of whether the certification is worth it.