CTFL-UT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTFL-UT Certification

TL;DR
  • The exam is 40 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes; you need 26 of 40 points (65%) to pass.
  • The Usability Testing chapter carries 13 of the 40 questions, the largest single allocation.
  • ISTQB Foundation Level certification is the prerequisite; the standard U.S. exam fee is USD 199.
  • The syllabus is Version 2018 and names WCAG 2.0, so study the examined standards, not later ones.

What This Certification Actually Is

The ISTQB Usability Testing certification is a specialist module in the ISTQB scheme, delivered in the United States under the American Software Testing Qualifications Board (ASTQB). On this site we refer to it as CTFL-UT, but the current official international name is Certified Tester Usability Testing (CT-UT). Both labels point at the same specialist scope: how testers plan, run and report on usability, user experience and accessibility work.

It is worth being precise here, because the name invites confusion. This credential is distinct from the core Foundation Level syllabus, and it is also distinct from the AT*SQA usability microcredential. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainer pages What Is CTFL-UT? and What Does CTFL-UT Stand For? cover the naming in more depth.

Naming note: The "CTFL-UT" label and this domain are retained for continuity, while ISTQB's current international title is Certified Tester Usability Testing (CT-UT). Official information lives at ASTQB's usability tester resource page and ISTQB's CT-UT certification page.

Exam Format, Fee and Registration

The mechanics are straightforward, and knowing them before you study removes a lot of anxiety.

ItemDetail
Question formatMultiple choice
Number of questions40 (40 available points)
Time allowed60 minutes
Passing score26 of 40 points (65%)
Extra time25% additional (75 minutes) for eligible non-native-language candidates
ConditionsClosed book; electronic calculator and notepad provided in online delivery
ProviderAT*SQA with Kryterion/Webassessor, online proctored or at a testing center
Standard U.S. feeUSD 199, same for online and test-center delivery
PrerequisiteISTQB Foundation Level certification
ValidityLifetime; no renewal or continuing-education requirement

A few practical points deserve emphasis. The $199 figure is explicitly listed for Usability Testing in ASTQB's 2026 price table. AT*SQA's own pricing summary omits that exam row, but the omission is not evidence of a different price. No member/nonmember split is published, and optional training is a separate purchase. A full cost walkthrough is in our CTFL-UT certification cost breakdown.

If you earned your Foundation Level certificate through another board or provider, you must supply that prerequisite certificate through your AT*SQA account before sitting the exam. Self-study is permitted, and an accredited course is optional. No separate mandatory degree, experience hours or training hours were verified for this specialist module. See CTFL-UT requirements for eligibility detail, and CTFL-UT passing score for how the 26-point threshold works in practice.

Retakes normally require another purchase, though conditional ASTQB free or discounted retake offers may apply. An additional count of unscored items is not separately published, and no adaptive-testing specification was verified.

The Eight Syllabus Chapters Behind the Exam

The exam is built on eight examinable chapters of the Certified Tester Foundation Level Specialist Syllabus Usability Testing, Version 2018 (dated July 8, 2018; ISTQB's download listing labels it v1.0). References and Index are not additional exam domains. The chapters are:

  1. Basic Concepts
  2. Risks in Usability, User Experience and Accessibility
  3. Usability and Accessibility Standards
  4. Usability Reviews
  5. Usability Testing
  6. User Surveys
  7. Selecting Appropriate Methods
  8. Summary of Roles and Responsibilities

No official percentage-domain weights appear in the retrieved syllabus and current structure tables, so any site quoting precise domain percentages is inferring them. We do not. For a chapter-by-chapter treatment, see CTFL-UT Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.

Basic Concepts

The vocabulary foundation. Expect questions that test whether you can distinguish usability, user experience and accessibility, and recognize the terms the syllabus defines.

  • Know the syllabus definitions precisely, not just everyday meanings
  • Be able to separate related terms that are often used interchangeably

Risks in Usability, User Experience and Accessibility

How poor usability and inaccessible design create business and project risk, and how those risks inform testing priorities.

  • Connect specific usability problems to their consequences
  • Understand why risk drives the choice and depth of evaluation

Usability and Accessibility Standards

The standards and guidelines the syllabus references, with particular attention to what the 2018 version actually names.

  • Learn the standards the syllabus names, including WCAG 2.0
  • Do not substitute later versions when answering syllabus-based questions

Usability Reviews

Inspection-style evaluation methods that do not require recruiting test participants.

  • Understand when a review is a sensible alternative or complement to testing
  • Know the strengths and limits of review-based evaluation

Usability Testing

The heart of the exam: planning, scripting, moderating, observing, analyzing and reporting. Covered in detail below.

User Surveys

Collecting user opinion at scale, including how surveys differ from observed behavior in a test session.

  • Understand what surveys can and cannot tell you about usability

Selecting Appropriate Methods

Choosing among reviews, testing and surveys given constraints such as project stage, budget and the question being asked.

Summary of Roles and Responsibilities

Who does what in a usability effort. A small chapter, but the questions reward clear distinctions between roles.

Where the 40 Questions Come From

The Exam Structure Tables (v1.19, August 19, 2026) allocate questions to chapters in syllabus order as follows, plus a block of cross-syllabus keyword questions:

SourceQuestions
Chapter 1: Basic Concepts8
Chapter 2: Risks in Usability, User Experience and Accessibility2
Chapter 3: Usability and Accessibility Standards3
Chapter 4: Usability Reviews3
Chapter 5: Usability Testing13
Chapter 6: User Surveys2
Chapter 7: Selecting Appropriate Methods1
Chapter 8: Summary of Roles and Responsibilities2
Cross-syllabus keyword questions6
Total40

Two cautions. First, the cross-syllabus keyword allocation is not a ninth content domain, and we have not converted these counts into percentages. Second, ASTQB's HTML allocation summary labels the six keyword questions "Chapter 9," but the detailed official table and the eight-chapter syllabus control. If you see a ninth chapter in a third-party guide, that is the source of the discrepancy.

What the counts imply: Chapter 1 (8 questions) and Chapter 5 (13 questions) together account for 21 of the 40 questions. Those two chapters alone can nearly carry you past the 26-point threshold if mastered, which makes them the logical place to invest your first and deepest study hours. The six keyword questions reward knowing the syllabus glossary across all chapters.

Because the allocation is so lopsided, the single smallest chapters (Selecting Appropriate Methods at 1 question, Chapter 2 and Chapter 6 at 2 each) should get proportionate, not equal, attention. Still, do not skip them: with a 65% threshold, every point matters. For a candid view of how this plays out, read How Hard Is the CTFL-UT Exam?

Mastering the Usability Testing Chapter

With 13 questions, the Usability Testing chapter is the single most valuable block on the exam. The syllabus treats a usability test as a managed activity with distinct phases, and exam questions tend to probe whether you can reason about each phase rather than recite a definition.

Planning and scripting

Be able to reason about what a test is meant to learn before choosing tasks. A worked exercise: take a simple e-commerce checkout and write three test objectives, then derive one realistic task scenario per objective. Check that each scenario describes a goal the participant would plausibly have, without leaking the interface labels or steps that would give away the answer. Questions often hinge on whether a task is leading, ambiguous or measurable.

Moderation and observation

Practice articulating the difference between moderating and observing. A moderator guides the session and keeps the participant at ease without steering behavior; an observer watches without interrupting. Exam questions in this area frequently present a scenario in which someone behaves inappropriately (for example, hinting at the correct path) and ask you to identify the problem.

Roles in a session

Be clear on who does what: the tester or facilitator, the moderator, the note-taker and the observers each have distinct responsibilities. Chapter 8 summarizes these roles, so study Chapters 5 and 8 together to avoid contradicting yourself across questions.

Findings and reporting

Work through a small exercise: given a list of raw observations from a session, separate observed facts from interpretations, group them, and phrase each finding so that a developer could act on it. Exam questions reward distinguishing an observation ("three of five participants clicked the logo expecting to return home") from a conclusion or recommendation.

Key Takeaway

Treat Chapter 5 as your anchor. Write a mini test plan, script, and findings summary for any website you know, then check each element against the syllabus's own terminology. That one exercise exercises most of the 13 questions' worth of content.

The 2018 Syllabus and Its Standards References

This is the most common trap for candidates using modern study materials. The syllabus is Version 2018, and it explicitly names WCAG 2.0. Professional practice has moved on since then, and many 2026-titled prep products reflect current standards. But a prep provider's 2026 title does not prove an exam revision, and it does not replace the standards the syllabus actually examines with later versions.

The practical rule: answer exam questions according to the syllabus, even where your day-to-day practice differs. Keep a separate mental column for "what the syllabus says" and "what current practice recommends," and when a question is clearly drawn from the syllabus wording, choose the syllabus answer. Our CTFL-UT study guide and one-page cheat sheet are organized around the syllabus wording for exactly this reason.

Sample Exams: Which One Is Current

Two sample exams circulate, and mixing them up wastes preparation time.

  • ISTQB Sample Exam A, v1.2 (June 15, 2021): the current official ISTQB sample. It explicitly supports syllabus Version 2018, with separate question and answer files.
  • GTB Sample Exam Version 2017 (July 21, 2017): an older sample that the ASTQB resource page still links. It predates the 2018 syllabus and should not be mistaken for the current sample.

Start with the 2021 sample. Time yourself against the real constraint of 40 questions in 60 minutes, which works out to an average of 90 seconds per question. After scoring, do not just count correct answers; for each miss, trace the question back to a syllabus chapter and log it. Patterns in your misses will tell you where to spend the remaining time. When you want additional timed practice beyond the official sample, our CTFL-UT practice tests follow the same eight-chapter structure.

A note on third-party question banks: several public sites offer sample questions, some with answer keys only and some with rationales. Treat any such material as unverified unless it links its answers back to the syllabus. A correct answer with no source citation teaches you less than you think, and claimed exam alignment or advertised success figures should not be taken at face value.

CTFL-UT vs CPUX-F: Role and Scope

Candidates often ask how this certification compares with CPUX-F. They are different credentials from different bodies, so the useful question is scope and fit rather than which is "better." The ISTQB route is a specialist module within a software-testing scheme and requires a Foundation Level certificate first, which anchors it firmly in a testing career path. We have not established measured demand for this specific comparison, so we avoid claiming one is more marketable than the other.

ConsiderationCTFL-UT / CT-UTCPUX-F
Governing schemeISTQB (ASTQB in the U.S.)Separate certification scheme; check its own official sources
PrerequisiteISTQB Foundation Level certificateVerify with its issuer
OrientationUsability testing from a software-testing perspectiveVerify with its issuer
Exam facts on this page40 questions, 60 minutes, 26 points to passNot covered here

If you already hold or plan to hold ISTQB certifications, this module slots in naturally. If your background is in UX design rather than testing, confirm each credential's prerequisites and scope directly with its issuing body before deciding.

Who Hires for This Skill Set

The credential is aimed at people who evaluate how usable and accessible software is: software testers who take on usability work, QA leads, and professionals in UX-adjacent roles who need a testing-oriented vocabulary. Job postings seldom list this specific certificate by name, so its value is usually in demonstrating a structured grounding in usability evaluation on top of an ISTQB Foundation Level credential. Browse our overview of CTFL-UT jobs for the kinds of roles where the skills apply.

On the financial question, we want to be straightforward: no authoritative salary series specific to this credential, and no causal salary premium, was verified. Be skeptical of any source that quotes a precise earnings uplift. Similarly, the pass rate for this exact credential is not publicly disclosed. ASTQB's roughly 71% figure is an aggregate across worldwide ISTQB certifications through May 2025 and is not a usability-testing pass rate. Our pass rate analysis, salary guide and worth-it ROI analysis explain how to weigh these gaps honestly. One genuine point in its favor: the certificate has lifetime validity with no renewal or continuing-education requirement, so the cost is a one-time outlay.

A Chapter-Ordered Study Sequence

Rather than a generic schedule, order your preparation by where the points are. This sequence assumes you already hold the Foundation Level certificate and are studying the syllabus on your own.

Week 1

Basic Concepts and Standards

  • Learn the glossary terms; the six cross-syllabus keyword questions reward this
  • Read the standards chapter against the 2018 text, noting WCAG 2.0 explicitly
Week 2

Usability Testing (13 questions)

  • Write a test plan, task script and findings summary for a real site
  • Rehearse moderator, note-taker and observer responsibilities
Week 3

Reviews, Surveys, Methods, Risks, Roles

  • Compare reviews, tests and surveys for the same research question
  • Review Chapter 8 alongside Chapter 5 to keep roles consistent
Week 4

Timed practice and gap repair

  • Take ISTQB Sample Exam A v1.2 in 60 minutes
  • Map every miss to a chapter, then restudy only those chapters

For exam logistics once you are ready, check CTFL-UT exam dates and scheduling. If you would like guided instruction instead of self-study, see our notes on CTFL-UT training; remember that an accredited course is optional, not required.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is CTFL-UT the same as CT-UT?

They refer to the same ISTQB usability testing specialist scope. The current official international name is Certified Tester Usability Testing (CT-UT); the CTFL-UT label remains in use on this site. It is separate from the core Foundation Level and from the AT*SQA usability microcredential.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

The exam has 40 multiple-choice questions worth 40 points, with 60 minutes allowed. You need 26 of 40 points, which is 65%. Eligible non-native-language candidates receive 25% additional time, for 75 minutes.

What does the exam cost and do I need a prerequisite?

The standard U.S. fee is USD 199, listed explicitly for Usability Testing in ASTQB's 2026 price table, and it is the same for online and test-center delivery. You must hold ISTQB Foundation Level certification first. Training is optional and priced separately.

What is the pass rate for this exam?

It is not publicly disclosed for this specific credential. ASTQB's roughly 71% figure aggregates all worldwide ISTQB certifications and exams through May 2025, so it should not be read as a usability-testing pass rate.

Does the certification expire?

No. It has lifetime validity with no renewal or continuing-education requirement. Retaking the exam, if needed, normally requires another purchase, though conditional ASTQB free or discounted retake offers may apply.

Ready to pass your CTFL-UT exam?

Put this into practice with free CTFL-UT questions across every exam domain.